Class Notes

This entry is part 20 of 21 in the series Fall - 2015

Class Notes

*indicates member of the Alumni Association


*DUANE HARRIS (’69) served as chairman of Honor Flight Coastal Georgia, which hosted 45 World War II and Korean War veterans on a chartered flight to Washington, D.C., to visit memorials built in their honor.


BEVERLY BRAZES SHELDON (’71) has retired after teaching mathematics for 20 years.

*PERRY L. GOORMAN (’73) was elected treasurer of the Scottsdale Bar Association for the 2015-16 term. He was originally elected to the Board of Directors in 2014.

JAMES NOXON (B.S. ’74, D.V.M. ’76) is receiving the Faculty-Staff Inspiration Award from the Iowa State University Alumni Association.

ELLEN HOLZMAN (’76) recently produced a documentary titled Unseen Warriors: Army Combat Cameramen in Vietnam.

PAUL L. VLEK (M.S. ’76, Ph.D. ’76) was awarded the GCHERA World Agriculture Prize for his success in developing global collaborative partnerships and being an inspiration to generations of students and researchers around the world.

ALDO V. VECCHIA (B.S. ’79, M.S. ’81, Ph.D. ’83) was awarded the 2015 Jeanne E. Griffith Mentoring Award for his outstanding efforts mentoring junior staff with the U.S. Geological Survey.


DR. TIM E. FULBRIGHT (’81) received the Sustained Lifetime Achievement Award at the Society for Range Management’s 68th annual meeting, recognizing his work in improving wildlife habitats.

GEORGE SENO (’83) was promoted to kindergarten program director at the Daegu Gyeongbuk English Village in Daegu, South Korea.

VALERIE WALKER (’84) was honored as the 2015 Outstanding Woman in Engineering by the American Council of Engineering Companies of Colorado.

VENKATARAMAN “BOBBY” BRINGI (’85), CEO of MBI in Lansing, Mich., was inducted into the AIMBE College of Fellows.

PATRICK BREDEHOFT (’86) was recognized by Chambers USA as one of the 2015 “Leaders in their Field” for his work in the oil and gas industry.

DR. JEFFERY P. HOLLAND (’88), director of the U.S. Army Engineer Research and Development Center in Vicksburg, Miss., was recently selected as a recipient of the Distinguished Executive, Presidential Rank Award.

*SCOTT G. SPARKS (’89) was recognized with the Northwestern Mutual regional Leader Award for serving the financial security needs of clients and policy owners throughout the region.

*KELLEY WOOD (’89) and wife Carol are relocating to Colorado as his new job with Raymond James Financial includes managing the company’s primary data center located in the area.


STEPHEN JACOBSON (’91) received the 2015 Special Achievement Award from the Pennsylvania Bar Association for his dedication and commitment to the association and in recognition of his work planning the annual Exceptional Children Conferences.

CHRISTINA BOYD (‘94), a managing director and senior financial advisor with Merrill Lynch in Wayzata, Minn., has been recognized in Barron’s magazine’s list of America’s top 1,200 advisors for the 11th consecutive year.

*KRISTIN STEPHENS (’95) was elected to the Fort Collins City Council to represent District Four.

CURT GOODEN (’96) joined C3/ CustomerContactChannels as senior vice president and CIO.

DAREN WILKINSON (B.S. ’97, M.E.D. ’99) and *JUSTIN RICH (’99) were on the coaching staff for the 2014 National Championship football team at CSU-Pueblo. Wilkinson was then named the 11th football coach at Texas A&M-Kingsville.

CARLA (ALVAREZ) THORNING (’99) has joined the real estate team at PureWest/Christie’s International Real Estate in Bozeman, Mont.

*ANTHONY WEBER (’99) is now the head men’s and women’s tennis coach at Colorado College. Weber was named Conference Coach of the Year for the women’s side, finishing the season with the highest rank (16) in nearly 30 years.


ANDY BURROUGHS (’00) was promoted to the rank of Lieutenant Colonel in the U.S. Air Force and is rated as a pilot on the RC-135 reconnaissance aircraft at MacDill Air Force Base in Tampa, Fla.

JOHN GEARHART (’00) recently took a new job with Denver Water as a conservation specialist.

ADAM GOERS (’04) earned his M.B.A. at the University of Pennsylvania and is now the deputy campaign manager and COO of former Maryland Governor Martin O’Malley’s presidential campaign.

BRIAN LOHREY (’05) was promoted to head basketball coach at New Mexico Junior College. During his tenure, Coach Lohrey’s team has appeared in the national tournament twice.

JACOB WELLS (’06) was hired as a park ranger supervisor for the Denver Ranger Program, overseeing other full-time and seasonal rangers. He also created and manages the Ranger Intern Program, Denver Fishing is Fun Program, and the Volunteer Courtesy Patrol program.

KELLI JO PRESTON (’07) has been recognized by Engineer News-Record as a recipient of the prestigious Top 20 Under 40 Award, for her innate leadership skills and ability to follow complex technical processes.

MILA (MORGESE) GATES (’08) started her own event and wedding planning business, Belle du Jour Events, and can be reached at

REBECCA REIF (’08) has joined the Ahlers and Cooney law firm as a member of the firm’s employment and labor law, higher education, and K-12 education practice areas.


SHAUN GUTTING (’11) was promoted to men’s assistant basketball coach at New Mexico Junior College.

BRADLEY A. SICK (’14) joined Larson Design Group in Corning, NY as a project designer in the water/wastewater department.


Did you get a new job or promotion? Move to a new city? Take a vacation in Paris? Tell your fellow classmates about these and all your news with a class note in Colorado State Magazine. We do not publish pregnancies or engagements. Please notify us once the wedding or birth has occurred, and we will gladly publish the happy news. Photos are welcomed and will be run alongside the note if the quality is adequate for print. Colorado State Magazine will also publish notice of death for alumni, faculty, and friends. Colorado State Magazine will not publish notices for those who passed away more than one year prior to the month of the publication. At the discretion of the editor, Colorado State Magazine may choose to highlight and lengthen notes for prominent alumni, faculty, or friends, depending on available space and estimated reader interest. Please submit your class notes to csualumni@ (800) 286-2586 or to:

FORT COLLINS, CO 80523-7114

Series Navigation<< 2015 Best Teacher Award WinnersReframing the Conversation Around Interpersonal Violence >>